Reviews

Gus said…
Feb 20, 2016
✯✯✯✯✯

Unusually good VRBO property

Date of Stay: February 11, 2016                                                          

I am part of a group that rents a wine country VRBO house every year as part of an annual gathering. We’ve never stayed in the same house 2 years in a row, but we will be staying here again next year for the following reasons: – every bedroom has its own bathroom (search the other houses of 5+ bedrooms and you’ll see how rare that is) – the bedrooms are all approximately comparable in size/quality (also rare) – the kitchen is excellent – the view is spectacular – the common areas are quite good – fun things like a nicely-kept pool table, blackjack table, fire pit, etc. – property management is very accessible if you need something It’s definitely the best wine country house we’ve ever stayed in. I highly recommend it.


Matthew D. said…
Nov 20, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

MUST RETURN

Date of Stay: November 13, 2015
We had a large group for an annual birthday trip and the house was more than we could have ever asked for. The view and the amenities are second to none and perfect for endless entertainment both day and night. We didn’t even need to leave! But when we did, our recommendation to go see Chuck up the road was a perfect afternoon getaway. Hoping to return for the next one!
Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Girls Getaway 


GB said…
Nov 23, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Positively Perfect

Date of Stay: November 5, 2015      
We had a large group for a 50th birthday party. The house was perfectly suited for 6 couples – really enjoyed the sauna and steam room! Location is great for a wine country get away.


Robert H. said…
Nov 10, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

This House is a Masterpiece!!!

Date of Stay: October 29, 2015

We had a large group and thoroughly enjoyed the house and view. It was awesome, we will plan to return in the near future.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


Lou G. said…
Oct 11, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Glorious!

Date of Stay: October 1, 2015
This property is everything and more. Nine friends met to reconnect after a year of retirement. We had our own space, as well as great spots to relax and visit. We especially enjoyed the moveable kitchen wall allowing direct access to the patio and pool area. We intended to do lots of wine tours and tasting, but found that we preferred just staying at the house. We even hired a chef to cook for us onsite, so we didn’t have to leave. Melanie was excellent to work with – professional, personable, organized and attentive. We loved our stay and will cherish the memories!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway,  Age 55+ 


Corinne H. said…
Oct 19, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

A trip of a lifetime

Date of Stay: September 27, 2015
A group of 6 couples had the opportunity to travel to wine country for an incredible vacation. This beautiful home made the trip. Pictures do not do it justice. The layout is perfect for entertaining or even grabbing a few quiet minutes to yourself. We spent our days touring vineyards and our evenings/nights sitting around the fire pit and enjoying the beautiful sunsets. We had the neighbor, Chuck McCoy, visit for a private tasting and loved his wine! We had a chef come in for one of the most delicious meals I’ve ever tasted. We did not want to leave this perfect house and the awe inspiring view. The beds were all so comfortable and the linens high end. We took advantage of the newly installed steam room and the enjoyed the gourmet kitchen. I highly recommend this property. Melanie was fabulous and the house had every amenity you could think of. . .including toiletries, shampoo, conditioner and many staple pantry items. We all hope to get back to this outstanding property again one day.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


Nan V. said…
Sep 21, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

An Excellent Getaway for Family & Friends!

Date of Stay: September 10, 2015
We stayed here in Sept 2015 with a group of family and friends celebrating my husband’s 40th birthday. We had several people who flew from out of state and those that drove to the property. Everyone had nothing but a fabulous time and kept saying how relaxing and enjoyable the whole weekend was. We didn’t leave the property once over our 3 night stay – having food delivered, catered and activities onsite. It was an incredible weekend and a memory that we will cherish. There are no words to describe this venue – its just amazing with vineyard views, incredible sunrises/sunsets, and amenities that make your stay incredibly comfortable and ultra luxurious.


Riaz u. said…
Sep 4, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

40th Birthday Celebration

Date of Stay: August 20, 2015

We chose this property to celebrate my wife’s 40th birthday. We had 14 adults in total stay in the house. All I can say is that everyone was amazed at the house! Melanie was great to work with. She met us at the house with champagne and a cheese platter. The house is in perfect condition. We did the winery tours in the day time and picked up food for the house in the evening. No one wanted to go out for dinner. Honestly, I can’t say enough good things about this house and the experience. We all agreed that we might have to do this again soon!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Jonathan B. said…
Sep 30, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Wow!

Date of Stay: August 19, 2015
Amazing house that was more than we could have expected or dreamed of. Loved staying there. Plenty of bedrooms and an amazing, secluded property. Lots of wildlife too! Deer mostly. We loved it there and can’t wait to return.


Jeannie B. said…
Aug 10, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

A Grand Celebration For Three Generations

Date of Stay: July 19, 2015
We are eight adults and seven children from all over the US, who chose the Escape for our family reunion and the celebration of a fiftieth wedding anniversary. First of all, the pictures of the Escape on the internet do not do it justice. On our tour it was just one “wow” after another. The views of Santa Rosa and the vineyards below are spectacular. We can’t say enough about Melanie (the property manager). She greeted us with champagne and a cheese platter, carefully explained everything, and told us she was just a text message away, if we had any questions. She even took our group picture, which is priceless! There was plenty of room and plenty to do for all. Melanie gave us a list of attractions in town and nearby for adults and children, including a children’s zoo, tennis courts, and wineries. The “chefs” loved the kitchen, the four pianists played the baby grand. Everybody enjoyed the pool, the hot tub, the game room, the fire pit (s’mores)… Bottom line: We would return in a heartbeat!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers 


Jack said…
Jul 20, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

5 star!!!! 5 star!!!! 5 star!!!!

Date of Stay: July 14, 2015
Just returned for another visit to the Wine Country Estate. Another week in paradise, and the new, modern, upgraded kitchen looks like the set of a cooking TV show. The view out the new kitchen retractable doors right out of Conde Nast. New steam room and sauna compare to the best health club imaginable. That plus a hot tub and large pool. You’ll want for nothing, except a return trip. And by the way, Melanie the property manager is the best by far. There for check in, with refreshments and a tour, and available 24/7 for any of your needs. Needless to say, we’ll be back.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 


Rookie said…
Jul 24, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Dinner Club Adventure

Date of Stay: June 24, 2015
We are a 6 couple dinner club that enjoys good wine, good food and good friends that decided Wine Country was the perfect get away adventure. Wine Country Escape offered the perfect reason to go. The accommodations couldn’t have been more spectacular. The view from the pool, newly remodeled kitchen open to the pool, large game room, sitting area, outdoor patio, grill, etc.. I could go on and on what a perfect get away this was. We never had dinner out. The kitchen, grill and pool offered the perfect place to relax after a long day of wine tasting and touring. We are a group of 6 couples all in our late 50’s to mid 60’s. This place made us feel like teenagers. We had a ball and would recommend Wine Country Escape hands down. We will be back!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


sidney t. said…
Jul 2, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

An outstanding experience.

Date of Stay: June 9, 2015
The views are spectacular, the house extrely spacious and well appointed, with everything one would need. We’ll recommend it to anyone who wants to rent in the wine country.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers 
✯✯✯✯✯
Birthday celebration      
Date of Stay: June 4, 2015
Hosted 5 couples for 5 nights from NYC, Detroit, Atlanta and Phoenix for the perfect birthday celebration. The property is breathtaking, the house amazing and the location ideal for Sonoma wine tasting. Hired a chef for 2 of the nights which was a great way to enjoy the gorgeous sunset while dining al fresco. Couldn’t have imagined a more memorable setting. Will definately find a reason to return.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers 


Mary said…
Jun 5, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Amazing Home!

Date of Stay: May 23, 2015
Four couples traveled together to wine country for a long weekend. The house was perfect as each of the bedrooms is very similar….we did not even have to “draw straws”. Most of the house is on one floor which was great for two of us with mobility issues. The agent is wonderful. She is very easy to work with and is super responsive. The kitchen is newly remodeled! We cancelled all of our dinner reservations and cooked in every night. The hot tub was a big favorite, particularly because it overlooks the valley and sunsets. Speaking of which…the view and the sunsets are too spectaculare to describe. There is plenty of entertainment to keep you at the property …. pool table, blackjack table, tons of board games, large screen TVs, swimming pool, hot tub, etc., but wine country is at your feet is you feel like venturing out!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


love to travel said…
May 19, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Incredible….

Date of Stay: April 18, 2015
10 of us gathered here for 3 nights for a collective 60th birthday celebration and had the time of our lives. Sure, the longstanding friendships meant a good time would be had by all, but this house made the occasion extra special. The home is simply incredible. The entire property is extremely well maintained and in great condition. And it’s beautiful. The main floor has 5 bedrooms all with private baths and all with doors which open up and look out at the pool (there are additional bedrooms downstairs); the swimming pool and hot tub are very nice (towels are provided); the kitchen is modern and superb and the gas grill is enormous (we cooked in all 3 nights); the outdoor “picnic” style table was great for dinners against the setting sun (there’s also a large table inside which fit everyone); and the views are fabulous atop the hillside. The road to the property gets narrow in spots and is winding, but it’s worth it!! The drive to Santa Rosa is just 10-15 minutes for grocery store runs, etc. There are 2 gates to the property which require codes which are given once the deposit has been received. We hired a driver for wine country and gave him the codes so he could pick us up. In other words, access to and from the home is not a problem. Melanie the property manager was a joy to deal with. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and it’s a great venue for reunions, special occasions, etc.


Lesley B. said…
Jan 8, 2015
✯✯✯✯✯

Unforgettable 1st Cousins Retreat

Date of Stay: December 4, 2014
Our family has started a tradition of hosting a biennial retreat of all our first cousins. This event is always a great time of laughter, games, music, food, and reminiscent of the wonderful legacy of our grandmother (Nana). This year’s retreat was over the top AMAZING! First and foremost, Melanie was a gracious host and VERY accommodating to my husband and I as the host for our group of 12 adults. The Wine Country Escape is an AMAZING home. The pictures on the site, although they are beautiful, don’t show the breathtaking beauty, the views, and most importantly the warmth of the home in its entirety. We planned well and bought plenty of food, drink, snacks and PJs, and literally left the estate ONE TIME to attend a group wine tasting event at Kendall Jackson. Although my husband and I live in the South Bay and are blessed to see and appreciate the wonders of our beautiful surroundings, the majority of our family flew in from the east coast. They were in awe of the deer, llamas, fruit trees and gorgeous surroundings up in wine country. The house has literally any and everything you will need for a comfortable and pleasant stay. Our family was overjoyed with our time together and are still talking about this amazing place.
Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers 


Jason said…
Nov 7, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Couple’s Weekend

Date of Stay: October 9, 2014
I cannot begin to describe the time that my wife and I had here with 5 other couples. We have not stopped talking about it for the last month and cannot wait to plan another trip next year. The house is just amazing, perfect for a group our size. We never felt cramped and Melanie was such a gracious host. We had one minor issue with a toilet and immediately someone was there fixing it. The highlight of the trip was our first night there with the neighbor Chuck who shared dinner with us and we tasted his amazing wines. My only advice to anyone staying here is to make sure you stop in town to grab some groceries as you are not going to want to leave. Amazing time!!!!!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway


Mike M said…
Sep 27, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Amazing house!

Date of Stay: September 17, 2014
I can’t say enough good things about this house. It is well worth the windy drive up the hill to get to this estate. The pool and hot tub, where we spent our late afternoons, have magnificent views of the vineyards in the valley below. The sprawling backyard also features an outdoor dining table and a gas fire pit. The inside of the house is beautiful with six spacious bedrooms, each equipped with their own bathrooms and showers. The kitchen easily accommodated our group of 12 adults on both the night we ordered in and the night we hired a private chef. The rental agent was absolutely fantastic as well.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway


Big Chill Group said…
Sep 13, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Idilic getaway with friends

Date of Stay: September 3, 2014
Five couples gathered at this incredible home to use as a base while we toured wine country. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer to enjoy more time at this lovely home. It’s ideal for a large group, incredibly spacious and has breathtaking views. The outdoor patio, pool and hot tub are perfect for watching the sunsets, the kitchen and amenities were abundant. All 5 of us highly endorse this venue and look forward to planning our next trip there.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers


Liz said…
Sep 12, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Perfect Vacation Home

Date of Stay: August 29, 2014
This is our second year coming to The Villa – and we plan to go every year from now on. It’s great for groups of friends or family – every room has it’s own entrance an en suite bathroom – so plenty of privacy combined with lots of communcal space. And the pool and views are breathtaking. Doesn’t get much better than this!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


Voni said…
Aug 21, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

40th Birthday Celebration

Date of Stay: August 14, 2014
We were a group of 6 ladies staying in this wonderful house for 3 nights to celebrate my daughter’s 40th birthday. On our arrival, we were greeted by Melanie at the front door and she was very gracious to welcome us to the house and walk us through each room to show us the layout of the house. We thoroughly enjoyed the enormous space both inside and outside the home … with many sitting rooms, large bedrooms, large bathrooms, and an enormous back patio with that amazing view. The house has top quality linens, towels and beach towels for all the guests to use. Our afternoons away from the house were filled with lots of adventures and excitement, but our late afternoons and evenings in the house were so peaceful and relaxing. We hope to return to the house for another visit … and are grateful to have had the opportunity to stay in such a unique setting.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers


Elizabeth C. said…
Aug 18, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

A great tradition!

Date of Stay: August 4, 2014
Every other year, a group of us (who met at university in the early 90’s) bring our families and spend a week in wine country. This is our second year at this house, and it is the perfect venue for this type of celebration. Our kids love having run of the pool and the sprawling yard. The adults love the amenities. The pool and blackjack tables were welcome additions! Melanie, the property manager, made sure that all of our needs for bedding, towels and more were met and took immediate care of any issues that popped up. We certainly hope to be back in two years. I am already counting the days…
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway


11 friends from different places said…
Aug 4, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Exceeded Expectations! Amazing

Date of Stay: July 31, 2014
The house is gorgeous and it was bigger, better, cleaner and more beautiful than the VRBO pictures and description. There are so many different areas to hang out including the TV room, the grand room, the game room, and the pool table room. But we mostly spent our time outside. The pool is very large and nice. I highly recommend the place if you’re looking for a relaxing vacation. We hired a chef to cook us breakfasts and catered from the nearby Whole Foods (they deliver if you give them a couple of days in advance) for dinner. We had Mr. Chuck McCoy from Volante vineyards come to the house to do wine tasting, and he kindly picked up food from his favorite Italian restaurant called Cafe Citti. He loved spending time with us. What a wonderful charming guy. The last night, we cancelled our plan to go to a restaurant and decided to cook ourselves because all 11 of us wanted to spend more time at the house! Yes, it’s not easy to drive up the hill if you are drinking. But it’s worth it because you would not want to leave the house once you’re there anyway. So plan ahead, stop by at Costco before you get to the house, cater from Whole Foods or hire somebody and you will not regret the experience. And Melanie is great. There was a minor leak in one of the sinks and within hours of telling Melanie, the whole sink was replaced!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Families with Teenagers


Jack said…
Jul 21, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Simply the best…..and getting better

Date of Stay: July 16, 2014
Just returned from a return trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the upgrades, (pool table, black jack table, fire pit,new kids bedroom) to the house. As in the past, Melanie was always there when and if needed. She welcomed us with fresh, home made guacamole and Corona’s (our request). Everything, and I mean everything was clean and in working order. No easy deal for a house this big. That alone shows how much effort is put into maintaining the home. Same as last time, once you arrive, there really is no reason to leave. We spent almost every day and night at the “Escape”. I would absolutely recommend to anyone. The photos are accurate, the view is unmatched and the house is fully stocked – including the kitchen, with everything you’ll need. We will be back…..again!


Douglas O. said…
Jul 21, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Awesome sonoma experience!

Date of Stay: July 11, 2014
We came out for a group vacation. The house was epic! It is probably the most relaxing beautiful place I have ever stayed. The amenities of the house are perfect. We had the majorities of our dinners at home where we enjoyed the pool and sunsets! We are coming back next year for sure and would not stay anywhere else.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway 


Kate said…
Jul 10, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Beyond our wildest dreams–luxury living and relaxation at it’s finest!

Date of Stay: June 26, 2014
We were excited to find a place large enough to fit our group (12 people) and it did so and more. Each wing of the house is easily separated if needed but also plenty of common areas to gather as a group. The expansive, open kitchen layout made it fun to cook and entertain at the same time. Believe me, you will NOT want to leave this place so plan on cooking in. Weather was perfect when we visited so we took advantage and ate outdoors, watching the sunset and sunrise and relaxed in the pool during the day. Cannot wait for an excuse to go back!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway,  Romantic Getaway


Alisa said…
Jul 10, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Amazing

Date of Stay: June 26, 2014
This is the first time I was OVER impressed by an actual VRBO property. This house was amazing for a 40th birthday girls-getaway. Usually VRBO’s over-estimate the number it sleeps or the space it provides. This house would easily accommodate 6 couples with plenty of living spaces, outdoor spaces and other extras such as dining chairs, plates etc. The views were as beautiful as the house. Melanie was very helpful in planning our trip and helping out with suggestions during our stay. Chuck’s private wine tasting was such a treat… as was his tour of his vineyard the next day. It makes you really appreciate all the hard work and dedication that goes into making wine!! Every one of us would come back in an instant if the occasion arose. Everything was beautiful. Be aware though – you are way up high on some windy roads!! You don’t want to pop down to town for a quick trip to the store or bite out – BUT, you won’t want to once you arrive. We ended up eating all our meals at the house because it was so amazing.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


Todd P. said…
Jul 10, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Amazing

Date of Stay: June 26, 2014
I booked this house as a surprise for my wife and her friends for her 40th. While I did not get to experience it myself they say it was an absolutely beautiful place. My wife called me when they arrive and said most pictures on VRBO are usually embellished… Not this place the pictures do not do it justice. Melanie is wonderful to work with and very accommodating!!


Deb J. said…
Jun 3, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Dramatically Exceeded Expectations!

Date of Stay: May 16, 2014
After looking at hundreds of places to host my husband’s 40th birthday party weekend we came across “The Wine Country Estate”. The house was better than we could have imagined in every way. It was GIANT, and slept 12 adults and 4 kids (on floors) comfortably. The pool was perfect, huge, warm, and had amazing views. Melanie provided really top notch service from beginning to end. She was responsive both throughout the reservation process answering all of my questions, and throughout our stay. The house is perfectly located between Santa Rosa and St. Helena so there was a ton of opportunity to go wine tasting, but then also regular stores and parks not too far away. The kitchen had everything you could hope for, to prepare for a dinner for 12, or a picnic on the grass (watch out for snakes) for 20. There was a ton of parking spaces which was helpful for some local friends that came up to enjoy the pool on Saturday afternoon. I could not recommend the house more highly. If it was a TINY bit less expensive I’d go back every year! Lastly, some times I’ve spent a lot of money on house rentals or hotels and you I’ve arrived to find Costco snacks or cheap linens. That is not the case here! Everything about the weekend felt very luxurious and special. You will not regret it!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Cindy H (Santa Rosa, Ca)said…
May 5, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Beauty & Comfort All Around!

Date of Stay: April 17, 2014
From the moment we drove up the hill to the home we felt like we stepped into a serene oasis with views for miles. We needed a place to get away for a weekend and it surpassed our expectations. Melanie, property manager, welcomed us with champagne and a beautiful platter of cheese & fruit. She was available for any questions throughout our stay. The home was spacious and was fully equipped with anything anyone would need. The kitchen is a dream to prepare meals in! The home is very child friendly. Games and entertainment galore. The view of Santa Rosa at night was breathtaking. The stars at night were amazing. Anyone would be fortunate to spend time at this estate and we look forward to a return.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Mike said…
Mar 17, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Dream Birthday Weekend

Date of Stay: March 13, 2014
This house was everything that was advertised and more: stunning views and sunsets from the pool deck, large and wonderfully furnished bedrooms, vaulted ceilings throughout, a sprawling property with a small orchard, a fully stocked kitchen. Add in the great hospitality from Melanie the property manager and the scores of un-advertised extra amenities and this house proved all we could have wanted and more. The house more than comfortably hosted our group of 12 for the 3-day weekend. I would recommend this to any group looking to get away and treat themselves to something special. None of us wanted to leave!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Cyndi W. said…
Jan 23, 2014
✯✯✯✯✯

Perfect Place to Stay!

Date of Stay: January 17, 2014
We stayed at this property to celebrate our friends 50th bday. I was impressed from the moment we drove up! Melanie was there to greet us. She had decorated with balloons and happy bday signs and even bought a little cake that had a candle. She had champagne and snacks waiting for us. The house is beautiful both inside and out. The description on VRBO doesn’t give this home justice. The kitchen was fully stocked as was everything else. We left the house to go on a wine tour and canceld any other plans we had so we could just sit and enjoy the home and the amazing view. Chuck McCoy from a neighboring vineyard was kind enough to stop off on his own time ad bring us (13 of us) dinner from Cafe Citi and to do a private wine tasting right at the house. He had us over to his home on Sunday (right down the road) to taste more wines and to tour is vineyard. Mr. McCoy is not only a great wine maker he is a really kind and nice person. We all agreed that we will rent this home again. All the way from dealing with Melanie, to Chuck McCoy to the house was first class. It was perfect!!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


Anonymous said…
Nov 8, 2013
✯✯✯✯✯

Wine Away!

Date of Stay: October 27, 2013
We were 12 mid age folks that continue to have mental aspirations of staying young! Villa was perfect. It was better than we had envisioned. Plenty of space and privacy offered for 6 couples. Villa was very clean and had every amenity you could imagine. Melanie & Hus were great hosts and resources for all our needs. Trip was purely a wine adventure. The neighbor Chuck, who has a vineyard next door, was gracious to come do a private wine tasting at the house. Afraid we were a bit ragged after a day in Napa, but wines were excellent. Melanie offered many activities to do in the area, so we were not short on adventure. Downtown Santa Rosa restaurant, Flavor was an excellent recommendation & choice. Food was delicious. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if the need is for a large group.
Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


vnh0402 said…
Oct 27, 2013
✯✯✯✯✯

Stunning In Santa Rosa!

Date of Stay: October 10, 2013
We recently stayed in this beautiful villa to celebrate a 40th birthday, 6 couples. We could not have been happier with our choice. The views from this home are absolutely stunning! We visited some beautiful wineries during our stay but nothing compared to the place we got to call home for 4 days. Returning to this home after a busy day of wine tasting was ideal- sitting out on the patio watching the sunset as the cool air rolled in was just what we needed and the mornings were just as spectacular. Each room was very spacious and included its own private bathroom making it a perfect set up for multiple couples/families. Bedding was also very comfortable and we all slept so well. The kitchen was large and included everything we needed for some wonderful dinners. We also had Classic Culinaire come in one night to prepare a dinner (which was fantastic) and they also raved about the house and the well stocked kitchen. Melanie was very responsive and easy to reach for any questions we had as we prepared for our trip. She greeted us at the house when we arrived with Champagne and cheese which was such a nice and hospitable gesture. I give this house 5 Stars with ease and highly recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful home away from the hustle bustle and a relaxing getaway.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Jack said…
Jul 22, 2013
✯✯✯✯✯

WOW!!!

Date of Stay: July 17, 2013
Use VRBO often. Many times the pictures make the location look better. Not the case here. It is every bit as inviting as the pictures. Came with a large group for 4 nights, 5 days. Melanie was the best. Had some adult beverages waiting for us upon arrival….(very considerate and appreciated), so we could check in and sit down and relax after a long flight and drive. Everything was in tip top shape and worked. Melanie also provided a list of preferred vendors for food, catering,cycling, massages, etc. After a half day, it was determined that we just wanted to stay at the Villa the bulk of the time. Other than breakfast and our “morning meetings” we hurried back to the Villa to stay. All dinner reservations were cancelled and we bulked up on food, wine, beer, etc and cooked – and ate at the Villa every night. We couldn’t imagine a better set up. The well stocked kitchen had everything we needed. We will be back.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers


Jeff said…
Dec 10, 2012
✯✯✯✯✯

A Slice of Heaven in the Sonoma Valley

Date of Stay: November 9, 2012
We took a group of ten out to Sonoma to celebrate my 50th birthday. This was a tough crew — mostly New Yorkers — and we all fell in love with Peter’s villa. The home is very well appointed, with all we needed to cook and relax. The house is well organized for a large group, with separate bedrooms and bathrooms, and a layout that insures you can be together when you want to be, or private when you want as well. Peter helped us to arrange a private tasting with Chuck McCoy from Volante Vineyards — the highlight of our weekend! He met us at the house with fresh bubbly and patiently stepped us through all we needed. And when we were ready to leave, Peter helped us ship our accumulated wine purchases (eight cases!) at the UPS shop in town. He was a gracious and generous host, and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will definitely return!
Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


JamieC said…
Oct 21, 2012
✯✯✯✯✯

Your Vacation will be Amazing!

Date of Stay: October 11, 2012
Our group of 12 rented the house for a long weekend for a birthday celebration. The house is situated about 5 minutes off of the main road. It’s a beautiful and scenic drive. When we first arrived Peter and his wife were there to greet us. They showed us the grounds and toured the house. Each bedroom has it’s own bathroom, so it made it nice for each of our guests to have some privacy. There are lots of great spaces for game night, or in our case, a Saturday night piano singalong. To give you an idea of how big the house is, it took almost 2 minutes to walk from one end of the house to the other. We cooked most of our meals at the house. With the view no one wanted to go out. The kitchen is stocked with every gadget, plate, wine glass and platter you could ever imagine. They also have a really well stocked pantry you should check out before going grocery shopping. We loved the rule that you replace what you finish up. Definitely take them up on the offer to arrange for the private wine tasting from Volante Vineyards. Chuck came for a tasting and we invited him to stay for dinner and dessert. It was a great start to our trip. All in all, our stay was incredible. If our travels take us this way again, we will definitely be staying here.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Chris said…
Jul 31, 2012
✯✯✯✯✯

Work Retreat

Date of Stay: July 22, 2012
We stayed at the Villa for our annual work retreat and were impressed with the house. The location was perfect, the view was amazing, and the amenities and rooms were all perfect for our group of 18. I would recommend this for any corporate retreat.


db said…
Jul 28, 2012
✯✯✯✯✯

Perfect large party wine country villa

Date of Stay: July 3, 2012
We stayed at this beautiful home over the July 4th holiday 2012. We could not ask for more, amazing views, fully stocked kitchen, and an amazing pool. There was plenty of room for 6 couples including two toddlers. The kitchen has everything you need, from juice squeezers and crab leg crackers to every spice imaginable, including some fresh from the garden. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner poolside almost everyday. Do not miss out on having the neighboring winery come do a poolside tasting. The owners met us at the house on check-in and were very inviting. We could not ask for more.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


gershee said…
Jul 1, 2012
✯✯✯✯✯

A Spectacular Place To Stay In Santa Rosa

Date of Stay: June 20, 2012
In these days of “photoshopped” scenes, the website pictures do not do justice to the majestic and ethereal quality of this grand house. The architectural blending of a giant log superstructure supporting vaulted clean plaster walls and wooden/tiled floors and roof create a cathedral like presence that is at the same time warm and restful. The details of this house are exquisite from the sink and shower fittings to the door handles. Most of all it is the owners attention to your every need and their willingness to share well-appointed furnishings and gardens that make this house a home for everyday and special occasions that is equal to none. Nothing is lacking from kitchen equipment to pantry, plates, towels, toys, books, music, art etc. Everything is superbly maintained including freshly picked flowers throughout the rooms. Many thanks to Dede and Peter for making us feel so welcome throughout our stay – only wish we could have chatted more.
Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Alexander S said…
Oct 25, 2011
✯✯✯✯✯

Pure relaxation

Date of Stay: October 20, 2011
We gathered at this property to celebrate my dad’s 60th birthday. I’ll admit that driving up to the house I was a little skeptical about what lay behind the gates. The road leading to the property is a little windy and narrow as you approach the top of the hill. But once you get past the gate, you have another mile to drive to the house, and the last part of that drive gives you sense of what lies ahead. The sweeping views of the hills, valleys and Santa Rosa are absolutely spectacular, particularly around sunset and also in the morning and at night. The pool is large and very useable, while the in ground hot tub is also quite enjoyable even if it got really hot at times. The bedrooms in the house are all spacious, with two of them extravagantly large. The best part about the home is how airy and well ventilated it is. Sitting out on the deck with the cool breeze, playing cards and sipping wine….wow, i could easily have spent another week there. I would very highly recommend this place to people looking to get away from the hustle and bustle. This is not a place where you leave the house and return multiple times during the day since it is pretty far from civilization (even the closest grocery store, safeway, was a 10 minute drive.) This is a place where you actually spend time on the property and it’s well worth it. If you’re looking to spend time with your friends and family and kick back, i could not think of a better place to do it. Also, the owners were extremely gracious, accomodating and a real pleasure to deal with. We’ll probably find an excuse to return!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 


Punit C. said…
Sep 23, 2011
✯✯✯✯✯

Wow… we’re coming back…

Date of Stay: September 2, 2011
This place was really amazing! View’s, tons of space, really nice owner, right next door to a McCoy vineyards (Chuck McCoy did a private tasting next to the pool for us!). The pool and hot tub were spectacular… Great place for families– we never left the place! P
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 


Lonny23 said…
Sep 14, 2011
✯✯✯✯✯

Amazing weekend getaway!

Date of Stay: September 2, 2011
My family and I recently stayed at the villa with four other families (10 adults and 6 babies). We had the most specatular time. The villa is gorgeous, the pictures do not do it justice. The views are amazing, the grounds are pristine, and the bedrooms are each very large and comfortable. The owners of the house have gone above and beyond to ensure the comfort of the guests. They will arrange for private wine tasting at the house (with some delicious wine!) as well as private chefs. I would highly recommend this house. I look forward to our next trip to it, as we are sure to return to it.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 


Tejal T Shah said…
Sep 14, 2011
✯✯✯✯✯

Amazing property with incredible views!

Date of Stay: September 2, 2011
This property was described accurately but being there in person surpassed the beautiful description. The house is gorgeous and the views are spectacular. Our gracious host Peter greeted us at the house and showed us the entire property and pointed out all the amenities that we could use. He was very helpful is providing detailed directions and answered all our questions. He even arranged wine tasting with a local winemaker nearby. The house was very large and accommodating. We were 5 families with kids and everyone had a room and bathroom to ourselves which was great. We enjoyed the pool, the hot tub, the grill everyday. The kids had a great time in the pool and in the yard. Baggo was a fun game that everyone enjoyed as well. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking to enjoy a spectacular house in wine country.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Families with Teenagers